An official website of the United States government
Here's how you know
A .mil website belongs to an official U.S. Department of Defense organization in the United States.
A lock (lock ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .mil website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Pope pride shines through

  • Published
  • By Col. Timothy Zadalis
  • 43rd Airlift Wing Commander
First and foremost, I would like to offer my sincere condolences to the family and friends of Airman Michael Byles, 43rd Communications Squadron. Michael was an outstanding troop, and his loss is difficult for all of us. It is times like these that we need to take comfort in the memories he left us with and be thankful for the time we had with him.
There will be a memorial ceremony this afternoon at 1 p.m. in the Base Chapel.

Though we have a heavy heart with the loss of a member of Team Pope, I am proud that you have pressed on and are succeeding during the Unit Compliance Inspection, Logistics Standardization and Evaluation Program and Health Services inspections. You have stepped up and are demonstrating the phenomenal Pope pride that we are known for. On Tuesday morning when we receive our outbrief, we should all walk into the base theater with our heads held high knowing that we did everything we could to succeed. Every day each of you executes the mission, whether in-garrison or in-theater -- America counts on us, and you have never let the nation down. I couldn't be prouder of each and every one of you.

I want to congratulate all our recent award winners. This only validates the amazing things you do everyday.

As a wing, we garnered the AMC nomination for the 2007 Air Force Association Citation Of Honor Award presented for the development of aerospace power for the betterment of mankind!

I am pleased to announce Maj. Erik Lagerquist, 43rd Civil Engineer Squadron is the AMC nominee for the 2007 Spirit of Hope Award Military Program for his selfless contributions to the Pope community on and off duty.

Capt. Mark D. Whistler, 2nd Airlift Squadron, is the AMC nominee for the Thomas L. Thurlow Award for his contributions to the science of navigation.

Congratulations to the 43rd Operations Support Squadron's Capt. Crystal Penney who won the AMC Outstanding Air Reserve Component Intelligence Award.

And, Capt. Dawson Brumbelow, 43 OSS who is the AMC Outstanding Officer Intelligence Contributor of the Year.

And finally, congratulations to Capt. Khalid Cannon and the entire Public Affairs Staff including 1st Lt. Lisa Ferguson, Tech. Sgt. Vicki Johnson, Ed Drohan,
Staff Sgt. Cassandra Locke, Senior Airman Stacia Zachary, Nicole Campbell and Irvin Gourdine.
They are the AMC winners for the 2006 PA Internal Information Award.

Congratulations to all and all the best as they head to the Air Force level. I truly believe we will add Outstanding UCI, LSEP and HSI results to our trophy case.

Lastly, don't drink and drive, don't be That Guy or Gal, and always wear your seatbelts. Be SAFE and ALWAYS be there for your WINGMAN.